Body for Life – Week 2 Update


Week 2 provided a couple challenges from the get go.  My wife flew down to Alabama unexpectedly as her Grandmother’s health took a turn for the worse.  That left the puppy and I on our own for all of Week 2.

The second challenge came Monday morning.  I was invited to a work dinner Wednesday night as a co-worker was in town from LA.  I initially wanted to say no because I knew I’d be setting myself up for a BFL failure.  Avoiding restaurants is ridiculous though, so I happily accepted.

Let’s start with the obvious; I lost four pounds this week, which brings my total weight loss to 10 pounds in just two weeks.  I was extremely happy and surprised by this and am just six pounds away from my goal of 215.

I want to make a point here, as Body for Life isn’t just about weight loss.  For me, 215 is the goal because I want to shed off all the excess fat and use that as a building block for muscle growth.  It’s conceivable that I start putting on weight as I build muscle.  But I digress…

Eating Notes

Monday I temporarily lost my mind and had 3 chocolate chip cookies with milk.  I had a three-hour meeting at work, which threw off my eating schedule, but other than the cookies I did OK.

Tuesday I really had an urge for a beer, but resisted.  Instead I picked up a smoothie from Energy Kitchen on my way home.

Wednesday was the work outing.  We went to a place called Cookshop, which was awesome and I may write about it later.  Here are the pros and cons for my first dinner out on the BFL program.

Pros

  • I only drank wine and resisted the urge to drink beer.  Again, BFL is fine with an occasional glass of red wine at meals.
  • I ordered fish (yellowfin tuna)
  • I ate asparagus, which was probably the best I’ve ever eaten.

Cons

  • I drank 3 glasses of wine
  • Ate a lot of bread and some small, but unhealthy appetizers.
  • I had two cookies for dessert

That meal is a classic example of how far I’ve come.  It wasn’t perfect, but three months ago there wouldn’t have been anything positive from a health standpoint.

With my wife not around, Thursday night was tough.  I generally have 30 minutes from the time I get home from my day job till I leave to bar tend.  Now I had to feed and walk the dog instead of just changing and eating quick, so I grabbed a sandwich on the way there (roast beef on wheat with American cheese and light mayo).

Friday was pretty good.  I did have a beer and went to a healthy place that opened up near our apartment and got the Black Bean Veggie burger with soy chicken nuggets.

On my free day I went to town.  Started with breakfast at McDonald’s and gradually moved on to bologna and cheese, candy, pizza, beers, chips, etc.  Boy did I feel terrible Saturday night.  I forgot how awful heartburn is.

Sunday was nice as I went out to Brooklyn for a home cooked meal.  My friend made eggplant and pasta – delicious.  While I wasn’t completely healthy on Sunday, I was decent overall.

I still have a medium Dunkachino every day, since I don’t like coffee.  I may cut this if I start to plateau, but for now I don’t see it hurting too much.

Workout Notes

My workouts were awesome last week.  Really raised the bar from Week 1.  For example, here are my intensity levels for a cardio run on Tuesday, May 10th:

5 – 6.2 mph

6 – 6.7 mph

7 – 7.2 mph

8 – 7.6 mph

9 – 8.0 mph

10 – 8.2 mph

In that session, I ran 2.41 miles and burned 435 calories in 20 minutes.

Friday I did the elliptical, which I’m normally not a huge fan of.  However, due to the intensity regimen, I had a really tough workout.  I think I’ll start to incorporate  it every two weeks to give my knees a rest.

Saturday I again filled in for my wife and ran a 10K (6.2 miles).  I haven’t run 6 miles in 7 months, but I was up for the challenge.  I ran it in 51:43 (8:20/pace) and felt every bit of it after.  This set up a tough, tough workout on Sunday as lower body was on the schedule.  Let’s just say my rear end was in pain until Tuesday.

In summary, I really learned a lot this week.  Flexibility is the key to succeed in Body for Life, but I’m pretty sure that’s the key to success in life.  I used to aim for perfection and go out of my way to avoid failure.  But by doing something, I’m already making progress.  Even if I only get 5 out of 6 meals right, that’s way better than what I was doing a month ago.

I can’t say it enough, the beauty of this program is that there’s always another meal in a few hours.  I used to fall off the horse on Wednesday and just say “I’ll get back on track next week.”  Why wait that long?  Why not do it now?  This attitude change alone is worth doing this 12-week program.

The next two weeks are going to be tough.  As I write this, I have a 6:20am flight tomorrow to Huntsville, AL to join my wife for her brother’s wedding.  There is a fast food on every corner, including the amazing Chik-fil-A.  The temptation to deviate from this program will be immense.  But I’m going to do the best I can and take it one meal at a time.

The following weekend is Memorial Day weekend, and my family is getting together in the Catskills where eating and drinking are at the forefront.  If I can get through the next two weeks and maintain my current weight, I’ll be happy.

Time for a little shut eye.  Thanks for following along.

-JM

, ,

  1. #1 by Mary Ann Mars on May 19, 2011 - 8:20 PM

    Congrats on the weight loss and your determination. 10lbs in two weeks that’s fantastic.

Tell us what you think

